Drivers Education


Driver Education (sometimes called Driver Training by the DMV) is required for anyone under 17 years of age who is applying for an Idaho driver’s license. An approved Idaho Driver Education program consists of a required 30 hours of classroom instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving with a licensed instructor, and 6 hours of observation in a driver education car. You must have a Driver Training permit before taking any driver education courses, including those online

Who is required to take Driver-ed? The Driver Education Program, structured according to Idaho State Department of Education guidelines, complies with Idaho Law. Section 49-303, Idaho Code, states the Department of Transportation shall not issue a driver's license to any person who is under the age of seventeen (17) years, except that the department may issue a driver's license to any person who has successfully completed an approved driver training course and who is at least fourteen years and six months (14 ½) years of age, with driving privileges restricted to daylight hours only and with full privileges at sixteen years of age, after successfully completing the fifty (50) hours of supervised driving time, with ten hours during hours of darkness.

When can students enroll? At the age of fourteen years and six months (14 1/2) years of age, a student is eligible to enroll in driver education.

How can students enroll? Due to the high volume of students on MHS previously utilized notification mailing list, we have elected to not continue using that notification system.  Instead we moved to an emailed invite via Moscow High School that will be emailed out to ALL MHS enrolled families, using the same parent/guardian email address that is listed as the primary contact; there is no need for your MHS student to be added to a mailing list.  When a course opens up, MHS will email out an invite, along with the registration form and instructions on how to register your student.  Registration is a first come, first served enrollment process, with no pre-registration option available.  Courses will be offered approximately four times per year, with a fall, winter, spring and summer course.  No set start date/stop date or class schedules are determined in advance, but are announced just prior to each course opening for registration. 

Is registration currently available for an active course? As of September 2021, we are currently without driver-ed instructors.  MSD is in the process of taking applications. If anyone is interested in possibly becoming a driver-ed instructor, please visit the State Department of Education website for more details on what is required to be licensed.  To complete an application, you may apply online.

Once student enrollment opens up again, an email will be sent out to all MHS families.  If your student does not attend MHS, refer to paragraph below on how to get on the email notification list for upcoming driver-ed classes.

Does my student need to attend MHS?  No, MSD driver-ed course is available to anyone between the ages of 14.5-21 years of age.  If your student does not attend Moscow High School, we will continue to keep an active mailing list for these students so you can also be alerted when a new class is about to begin.  You can email Kayce Gregory at gregoryk@msd281.org the following information to add your non-MHS student to the email list.  1) Student's name, 2) School they attend, 3) Birthdate, 4) Parent/guardian name, 5) Parent/guardian phone number, 6) Parent/guardian email address


How do I get my students permit? 
Once your student is enrolled in a course, MHS will give all MSD students a Verification of Compliance form that you will need to take to Driver Licensing to get the permit. (Do not get your permit prior to being enrolled in a course). A Driver Education Permit must be obtained from Drivers Licensing Office (200 S Almon) between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays, prior to the deadline listed on the registration paperwork. If this deadline is NOT met, you may be replaced by another student.

Latah County Driver's Licensing office has resumed to offering walk in options, along with the ability to schedule appointments.  You can go online to schedule your appointment with Latah County Driver's Licensing, or call them at (208) 883-7216.  In order to get the permit, you need to take a certified copy of the student's birth certificate, social security card, a photo ID (ASB card, yearbook, or passport), Verification of Compliance form and optical lenses (if needed). The student and a parent/legal guardian signature are required. A step parent cannot sign for liability (permit) unless he/she has been granted legal custody or has adopted the minor through the courts. The appropriate documentation must be brought to the Drivers Licensing office. Any questions concerning who can sign for a minor's liability should be directed to Latah County Drivers Licensing at (208) 883-7216.

What cost is associated with the course?
Course Fee: $165.00 fee per student will be required payable to Moscow High School and must be paid at the time of registration.
Driver Permit Fee: 
The permit fee is $15.00 and the road test fee is $6.50 purchased through Latah County Driver Licensing.

The following information should answer many questions, but if more information is needed, please call Kayce Gregory, Secretary, (email: gregoryk@msd281.org) at Moscow High School, 882-2591 between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

  • The driver education permit allows the student to drive only in an approved auto with the instructor. Any student who violates this driving restriction will be dropped from the class roll.
  • Each student must complete a minimum of six (6) hours of behind the wheel instruction, six (6) hours of in the auto observation, and thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction. The course will be a minimum of six (6) weeks, probably eight to twelve weeks.
  • Classroom and driving sessions will be held before and/or after the normal school hours, on Saturdays, and during school vacations. Student input is considered when the driving schedule is developed; however, students are expected to avoid other conflicts whenever possible.
  • Students who miss three (3) scheduled sessions, without good cause, i.e. illness, will be dropped from the class. If a student misses a driving session with an unexcused absence, he/she may be required to pay a $15.00 fee for the make-up drive. This is a one time only opportunity. Students may attend a driver training session only if they attend a full day of school. If school is canceled because of bad weather, driver education sessions will also be canceled for that day.

DRIVER EDUCATION COURSE MATERIALS

State of Idaho Driver's Manual Idaho Driver Manual

HOMEWORK PACKETS
PRESENTATION NOTES POWER POINT PRESENTATIONS
Homework Packet 1 Presentation Notes No. 1 Presentation No.1
Homework Packet 2 Presentation Notes No. 2 Presentation No.2
Homework Packet 3 Presentation Notes No. 3 Presentation No.3
Homework Packet 4 Presentation Notes No. 4 Presentation No.4
Homework Packet 5 Presentation Notes No. 5 Presentation No.5
Homework Packet 6 Presentation Notes No. 6
Homework Packet 7 Presentation Notes No. 7 Presentation No.7
Homework Packet 8 Presentation Notes No. 8 Presentation No.8
Homework Packet 9 Presentation Notes No. 9
Homework Packet 10 Presentation Notes No. 10 Presentation No.10
Homework Packet 11 Presentation Notes No. 11 Presentation No.11
Homework Packet 12 Presentation Notes No. 12 Presentation No.12